Preview courtesy of Triton Showers  -  proud sponsors of the Irish National Rally Championship

The Triton Showers National Rally Championship reaches its penultimate phase on Sunday with the Lady Gregory Hotel Galway Summer Rally in Gort.

Monaghan’s Josh Moffett (Ford Fiesta WRC) and his Wexford co-driver Andy Hayes have enjoyed a near perfect season to date taking five outright wins and a second place (121 points from a maximum of 125) and can become champions with a top eight championship registered finish on the nine stage event.  Former champions Clonmel’s Roy White and his Cork co-driver James O‘Brien, also in a Ford Fiesta WRC, are their only title rivals.

It is now very much the business end of the Triton Showers season with the Motorsport Safety Team Group N series within the clutches of another Monaghan driver Shane Maguire (Mitsubishi).

Donegal’s Kevin Eves (Toyota Corolla) leads the category (the top two wheel drive competitor in overall classification) and is thirteen points clear of Monaghan’s David Moffett (Toyota Starlet).  Meanwhile and even though he failed to finish the last round in Sligo, Donegal’s JF Shovelin is very much in control of the Mk. 2 Escort Challenge Trophy and is set to clinch the title in Gort.

Last year’s winner in Galway, Cavan’s Jonny Pringle (Ford Escort) occupies the number one berth with the Triton Showers Championship duo of Josh Moffett and

Roy White, both in Fiesta WRC’s seeded at two and three respectively.

Having won the Irish Tarmac title last year along with the Valvoline Irish Forest Rally Championship, Moffett is favourite to complete a notable treble.  The only Triton round that he failed to win this year was, somewhat ironically, his home event, the Monaghan Rally.  He was leading that event until his Fiesta WRC punctured and although he made a brave bid to reclaim top spot, he had to be content with second behind former champion Donagh Kelly.  Interestingly, Josh’s older brother Sam won all three championships in the 2017 season.

Although Moffett doesn’t have to win to clinch the title he is unlikely to slacken the pace he has shown all season long.  White knows that the title is very much out of his remit but rallying is fickle and unpredictable.

Welsh driver Hugh Hunter (Ford Focus WRC) makes yet another trip across the Irish Sea and will be intent on securing a strong result as Maynooth’s Ian Barrett in the S12B Subaru WRC is seeded at five and will certainly be amongst the leading pack.

For Donegal’s Kevin Eves (Toyota Corolla) a top finish could be enough to secure the award where Monaghan’s David Moffett (Toyota Starlet) is his principal rival.

Meanwhile, Cavan’s Gary Kiernan (Ford Escort) will be in the fray for the top two-wheel drive exponent as will Wexford’s James Stafford (Darrian T90), who competed in the earlier rounds of the Triton series.  The top ten is completed by Welsh driver Steve Wood (Ford Fiesta WRC) and former triple national champion Monaghan’s Niall Maguire (Subaru WRC).

The Subaru WRC duo of PJ McDermott and Kevin Barrett in the Triton Showers liveried car are seeded just outside the top ten.  Other drivers capable of making an impression include Cavan’s Stephen McCann and Waterford’s Andrew Purcell both in Ford Fiesta R5’s.

A septet of Ford Escorts in the hands of Damian Toner, JF Shovelin, Mark Alcorn, Richard Whelan, Tom Flaherty, Frank Kelly and Jack Newman make for some mouth-watering competition.

Other entries include Raymond Conlon (Toyota Corolla), the Escorts of Mark Dolphin and Stephen Greaney along with Colin O'Rourke (Ford Fiesta WRC).


Top Group N contender Monaghan’s Shane Maguire (Mitsubishi) has the experienced Conor Foley as his co-driver.

Elsewhere, Maynooth’s Paul Barrett (Ford Fiesta R5) has opposition from Cal McCarthy (Citroen DS3 R5), Keith Lyons (Ford Fiesta R5) and Eugene Meegan (Citroen DS3 R5).  Also on the entry are the Subaru WRC of Ian Roche and former Irish Junior rally champion Gary McNamee (Honda Civic).


The Galway entry includes Pat Kelly (Ford Fiesta) and George Cullen (Ford Escort).


The Junior category has Conor Murphy (Honda Civic), David Kelly (Toyota Starlet) and Colin O’Donoghue (Ford Escort) as the top three seeds.


Organising Club: Galway Motor Club.

Clerk of the Course: Aiden Connolly.

Rally Headquarters: Lady Gregory Hotel, Gort 091 632333




1. Johnny Pringle/Paul Sheridan (Ford Escort)

2. Josh Moffett/Andy Hayes (Fiesta WRC)

3. Roy White/James O'Brien (Fiesta WRC)

4. Hugh Hunter/Rob Fagg (Ford Focus WRC)

5. Ian Barrett/Paul Magee (Subaru WRC)

6. Kevin Eves/Chris Melly (Toyota Corolla)

7. Gary Kiernan/Ryan Moore (Ford Escort)

8. James Stafford/Jeff Case (Darrian T90)

9. Niall Maguire/James O’Reilly (Subaru WRC).

10. Steve Wood/Keith Moriarty (Ford Fiesta WRC).



First Car Away: Lady Gregory Hotel, Gort. 9.20.

S.S. 1,4 & 7:     Skehanagh (17.3Km) 10.04, 12.35 & 15.12.

S.S. 2, 5 & 8:    Francis Gap (13.7Km) 10.42, 13.16 & 15.50.

S.S. 3,6 & 9:     Calfhill (8.2Km) 11.19, 13.53 & 16.27.

Service:    Gort Mart Complex 9.30, 11.54 & 14.28

Finish Ramp:    Lady Gregory Hotel, Gort. 17.02.



Triton Showers NRC (Provisional Standings after Round 7) 1. J. Moffett 121 pts; 2. R. White 103pts; 3. D. Boyle 51pts; 4. K. Eves 47 pts; 5. P. Hurson 40pts; 6. S. Maguire 39pts

Declan Boyle will drive his Ford Fiesta WRC in Abbeyleix

Just some two weeks ago Donegal’s Declan Boyle debuted a Fiesta R5 at the Galway International Rally, however, he reverts to his Fiesta WRC for Sunday’s opening round of the Triton Showers National Rally series, the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel Rally.


“Yes, it’s back to the WRC, the R5 has less power but is great to handle and better brakes.”  said Declan, whose cousin Brian Boyle returns to the co-driving seat to call the pacenotes.


On the prospect of a record making fourth title the Lettermacaward driver remarked, “Yes that’s the one, it would be class to win it four times alright, so we have to put the effort in to see if we can do it.” 

On his possible rivals he added, “Josh (Moffett) is always a threat and we will just have to wait and see who registers but you have to go flat out the take the slowest of them.” 

Prior to the event, mechanical scrutiny take place this Saturday evening from 2pm until 7.30pm at Oliver Stanley Motors, Cork Road, Durrow. On Sunday, the first car away from rally headquarters at the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel is at 9.05am with the finish ramp celebrations scheduled for 5.28pm.




1. Roy White/James O’Brien (Ford Fiesta WRC)

2. Declan Boyle/Brian Boyle (Ford Fiesta WRC)

3. Josh Moffett/Andy Hayes (Ford Fiesta WRC)

4. Sam Moffett/James Fulton (Ford Fiesta R5)

5. Peadar Hurson/Damien Connolly (Ford Fiesta WRC)

6. Joe McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney (Mini WRC)

7. David Bogie/John Rowan (Skoda Fabia R5)

8. Niall Maguire/Anthony Nestor (Subaru WRC)

9. Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullally (Subaru WRC)

10. Steve Wood/Keith Moriarty (Subaru WRC)

Laura Mc Menamin. C/O Motorsportireland, 34 Dawson St, Dublin 2. Ph. 0876646002

© 2023 by FLEX MMA. Creative Signs